Car Accident

On April 27th I made the brave move of putting in my notice at work. Three days later on April 30th I got into a car accident and destroyed my vehicle.

Talk about having an entire life makeover in one fell swoop.  

In a matter of days my whole world had flipped upside down. It’s been just over a week now since the accident and I realize that in the grand scheme of things, this could be a strange and bizarre gift from the universe.

I was going 50 miles an hour when I realized the car in front of me had stopped. I hit the brakes, but I knew that I was about to crash into the car in front of me. There was that brief moment where I wondered if I was about to go into a coma or be physically injured to the point of needing emergency surgery.

There wasn’t even enough time to consider the possibility of death.

BAM!

That is, until the moment after.

I took a deep shaky breath. I had just gotten into my first car accident.

I had just survived my first car accident. 

I’m alive. 

I saw the car in front of me pull off to the side while I watched smoke escape from the hood of my car that now looked like a crushed soda can.

Even though the other driver was already on the phone I reached for mine and called 911. While I was doing so, the realization hit me that I should get out of the car before I risk the possibility of being inside a car that bursts into flames.

The universe sent helpers to aid me in this trauma. I felt as though I had a mother, a brother, and a best friend in the form of these strangers I had never met.

“Mom” took the phone and spoke with the 911 operator.

“Brother” went to go get my bag from the car and search for my insurance card.

“Best friend” looked in my panicked eyes, held my face in her soft hands, and told me to breathe.

The paramedics looked me over and asked me questions, as the shock of what just happened to me sent me into a daze.

Did I really just get into a car accident? Is this really happening? 

I was taken in an ambulance to the hospital where my “best friend” was waiting for me. Her and I connected in such a way that I felt like I had known her all my life.

I had been asking the universe for friends and more specifically a best friend to call my own. I had also felt the strange pull of the ocean calling my name for quite a few weeks now since I had a conversation with a my psychic mentor about living near the coast. It seemed as if this unlikely connection may have been the answer I was looking for, but didn’t know how to find.

My new best friend began telling me about her life and the subject of her college plans came up. She said that she was moving to Pensacola, Florida next month. I felt my heart sink. I finally met my best friend and now she’s talking off to the coast.

Then she said something entirely unexpected.

Come with me. 

What??

I’m serious. You should totally come with me. I need a roommate. 

I didn’t know what to make of all this. I had just quit my job, got into a car accident, and almost died. Now the universe is prodding me to make plans to move?

I have thought about nothing else since this happened. My lizard brain has given me ample reasons to stay and continue doing what I’m used to. But then my spirit leaps into the conversation and wants an adventure, an experience of freedom, and a whole new way of being.

I can’t help but wonder if the universe is saying:

Hey girl, your on the wrong track. Here’s the right one. Go for it. Do something brave for once. Find yourself. You already know the life you want is by the ocean. Your soul needs that. Give your spirit what it craves and everything else will fall into place. You’ll see, just go. 

My lizard brain and my soul have been bantering this past week. I feel like it’s about time I start listening to my soul. Without any sort of guarantees or promises, I feel my spirit saying it’s time for a change, a big one. It’s time to get out of Illinois.

I feel like near death experiences bring about the realization that death is such a real possibility and it’s about time to engage in real soulful living. The kind of living where your spirit is bursting from inside you because you just know that your finally on your way to a fulfilling life. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

